top of page

Introduction to the seven chakras

Updated: Apr 13, 2023

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioral characteristics and stages of spiritual growth. Practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit.

There are seven main chakras in the body, each associated with a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional/behavioral issue, as well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.

The seven chakras are:

  • Muladhara - Root Chakra - base of the spine (red colour)

  • Svadhisthana- Sacral Chakra - abdomen, genitals, lower back/hip (orange colour)

  • Manipura- Solar Plexus Chakra, Stomach area (yellow colour)

  • Anahata- Heart Chakra - Heart area, centre of chest (Green colour)

  • Vishuddha- Throat Chakra- Throat area (Blue Colour)

  • Ajna- Third Eye Chakra- brow area (Indigo Colour)

  • Sahasrara- Crown Chakra - top of head, cerebral cortex. (Violet or White)

Through the movements and postures of yoga, you can learn to focus your concentration and energy to and from the various chakras in your body. This can allow you to compensate for areas that may be out of sync with the rest of your body or not active at all. By balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras, balance can be achieved.

This spiritual energy is known as Kundalini energy. In its dormant state, it can be visualized as a coiled up snake resting at the base of your spine, the Muladhara chakra. Since the chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of energy through your system, controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional wellbeing.

You can learn how to connect to your own chakras and balance any blockages through learning about Reiki energy healing and being attuned to the frequencies. You can also visit your local therapist for a session to help release any blockages to assist you along your healing journey!

If you would like to learn about Reiki please reach out or you can also read my blog about Reiki here.

If you would like to receive a session from me, please click here to book.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
Living Reiki CoachingV3.png
bottom of page